Thursday, March 31, 2016

House selects 2016 leadership team

Speaker Jeb Hensarling
U.S. Representative Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas) was chosen to be the Speaker of the 2016 House of Representatives today. He was selected in a closed-door meeting of the House Republican Caucus.

Other majority party chamber leaders selected today include Reps. Trey Gowdy (R-South Carolina) for Majority Leader and Louie Gohmert (R-Texas) for Majority Whip. Democrats chose Rep. Hakim Jeffries of New York to be Minority Leader, Rep. Mike Honda of California to be Minority Whip, and Rep. Elijah Cummings of Maryland to be Deputy Minority Whip.

From the White House, President Obama issued a statement congratulating Speaker Hensarling and the rest of the House leadership. "I look forward to working with majority and minority leaders this session on a productive agenda to improve this nation for all its citizens," the President wrote.

Prospects for the session are difficult to ascertain at this point. Notably, the Republican majority has chosen a very conservative group of leaders from Southern states, while the Democratic leadership is somewhat more moderate. This may make relationships with the White House somewhat strained.

No comments:

Post a Comment